Lifetime achievement for Amarnath; Kohli and Bumrah win big

Virat Kohli won the International Cricketer of the Year and the Best Batsman. © Getty

Mohinder Amarnath, the former Indian cricketer, was bestowed with the lifetime achievement award on Monday (May 13) at the CEAT Cricket Rating Awards. Virat Kohli won the international cricketer of the year and the best batsman, while Jasprit Bumrah was named the international bowler of the year.

“It is a great honour for me,” said Amarnath who played a crucial part in the 1983 World Cup winning campaign. The award was presented to him by his former team-mate and the chief adjudicator, Sunil Gavaskar.

Cheteshwar Pujara, who was the man of the series in India’s Test series in Australia, won the international Test cricketer of the year and Rohit Sharma bagged the international ODI cricketer of the year award for his consistent performances.

The other winners included Kuldeep Yadav for outstanding performance of the year and Smriti Mandhana – international woman cricketer of the year.

Harsh Goenka, Chairman RPG Group, speaking at the ceremony said, “2018-2019 has seen some scintillating cricket being played across the world with outstanding individual performances.

CEAT Cricket Rating Awards felicitates these heroes who have not only entertained the audience worldwide but have also made their respective teams proud. Congratulations to all the winners and I wish the Indian Cricket team the best for the upcoming World Cup.”

The Award winners

Lifetime Achievement Award – Mohinder Amarnath

International Cricketer and Batsman of the Year – Virat Kohli

International Bowler of the Year – Jasprit Bumrah

International Test Cricketer of the Year – Cheteshwar Pujara

International ODI Cricketer of the Year – Rohit Sharma

International T20 Player of the Year – Aaron Finch

Outstanding Performance of the Year – Kuldeep Yadav

International T20 Bowler of the Year – Rashid Khan

Domestic Player of the Year – Ashutosh Aman

International Woman Cricketer of the Year – Smriti Mandhana

Junior Cricketer of the Year – Yashasvi Jaiswal

Cricket Journalists of the Year – Sriram Veera and Snehal Pradhan

Special tribute: Late Ajit Wadekar


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here