Chandimal included in Sri Lanka squad for first New Zealand Test

Dinesh Chandimal has returned to the Sri Lanka Test squad for the opening game against New Zealand © Getty

Sri Lanka have included Dinesh Chandimal in the 15-member squad for the first Test against New Zealand, set to take place in Galle from August 14. The former skipper has been out of favour for more than six months after a poor series against Australia.

Apart from Chandimal, the selectors have also included Angelo Mathews, who missed the South Africa tour due to a hamstring injury as well as Akila Dananjaya and Niroshan Dickwella, who both featured in the Sri Lanka A squad during the tour of India in June.

From the 22-man probables announced on Wednesday, the selectors have decided to leave out Kasun Rajitha, Asitha Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilruwan Perera and Angelo Perera from the final 15.

The upcoming two-Test series, to be played in Galle and Colombo, will be Sri Lanka and New Zealand’s first assignment under the World Test Championship.

Sri Lanka Squad for 1st Test: Dimuth Karunaratne (c), Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya De Silva, Akila Dananjaya, L Embuldeniya, Suranga Lakmal,Lahiru Kumara, Oshada Fernando, Lakshan Sandakan, Vishwa Fernando


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here